The Bachelorette

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it more than once on this blog, but I love my sister Sarah. I really do. And she is getting MARRIED! Soon! And of course as the wedding approaches, the festivities to celebrate the bride are quickly approaching as well!

In July, I get the opportunity to host my sister’s bachelorette party back home in Denver. Now, when I initially took on this task I thought, “oh no, the old chick is planning the party” and had no doubt in my mind that I wouldn’t have a clue where to start. But after some deep contemplation, I realized that “hey! I once used to be ‘cool,’ and have made a few rounds in Denver myself!”

After some “googling,” I set a plan for the party and got squared away on the invitation design to hopefully spark some excitement for the guests and for Sarah.

I wanted to keep most of the party a secret from Sarah, so I kept the details of the invitation pretty vague, but gave the guests an idea of location, time, pertinent lingerie sizing, and the basic agenda of the evening. I decided to use 3 different colors of paper to not only follow Sarah’s wedding colors and theme, but also to make the invitation a bit unique for the bachelorette party itself.

I used bright red brads to hold the invitation together and completed the “show some love” invite by hand stitching a heart on top of the invitation using red thread. I have ALWAYS loved the concept of incorporating unexpected items into my paper designs and was so excited when I found this turquoise, green, red and yellow striped fabric from a funky vintage fabric store in downtown Seattle. I finished off the hearts by distressing the edges to give them that worn, vintage look to complement Sarah’s 50’s wedding theme.

I completed the design by tucking the invitations in a string tie envelope and continuing the colors of red and turquoise on the address labels using colorful cardstock.

I CANNOT wait to head home in a few weeks to really get the celebration started with the bride and her friends and family!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bachelorette, Envelopes, Fabric, Invitations, Parties, Personalized

Leave a Reply

