The Map

My father-in-law Pete, and mother-in-law Linda are coming into town to visit Adam and I today! We’re very excited to have them and are looking forward to a weekend full of relaxing and catching up!

One thing we will be doing this weekend is celebrating Pete’s birthday. When I sat down a couple of weekends ago to figure out how I wanted to wrap Pete’s birthday gift, I realized how many amazing things have happened for Pete in the past year.

One of the most major things was that Pete retired from Continental Airlines after 26 years of service as a pilot for the airline. Adam and I, including Adam’s 3 brothers, his mom, and my sister-in-law Cindy were able to accompany Pete on his last trip. Over Thanksgiving weekend last November Adam and I met the Blake Fam in Houston and then we flew (Pete was the pilot) over to Honolulu for a little getaway. Although short lived, the trip was AMAZING! We hung out at the beach, soaked up some rays, and ate some fantastic food. We then hopped back on the plane and accompanied Pete on his very last flight as a commercial pilot. It was emotional to say the very least and I felt so honored to share the trip with my husband, and my new father in law.

I have always wanted to use maps as wrapping paper and thought what better way to celebrate Pete “the pilot,” who has flown all across the U.S., than by using a map to wrap his birthday gift! I bought one of those HUGE wall maps of the United States and cut it to the shape of Pete’s gift. I then added a very “masculine” looking ribbon (tweed looking actually) as the finishing touch.

Happy Birthday Pete! I’m looking forward to celebrating your birthday this weekend! What a year you have had and I hope you have many more years of monumental and amazing events to come! Love you!

1 Comment

Filed under Birthday, Fantastic Ribbons, Inspirations, Personalized, Unique Paper Prints, Wrappings

One response to “The Map

  1. Amanda

    You are too cute!!

Leave a Reply

